People aged 65 or over
21.8%21 March 2021 · Canterbury
Show the workings
Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator
All usual residents
34,250 out of 157,429.
Source and method →Canterbury · England
Canterbury council area. Every figure carries its own date.
A place is more than its average house price. The census shows who lives here and some of the pressures households face.
People aged 65 or over
21.8%21 March 2021 · Canterbury
Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator
All usual residents
34,250 out of 157,429.
Source and method →People reporting bad or very bad health
5.1%21 March 2021 · Canterbury
Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator
All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised
8,036 out of 157,429.
Source and method →Households facing at least one measured disadvantage
52.7%21 March 2021 · Canterbury
The census checks education, employment, health and housing. This is not a measure of income or poverty.
Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator
All households
33,622 out of 63,792.
Source and method →Households facing two or more measured disadvantages
17.8%21 March 2021 · Canterbury
The census checks education, employment, health and housing. This is not a measure of income or poverty.
Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator
All households
11,328 out of 63,792.
Source and method →People aged 16+ with no qualifications
16.2%21 March 2021 · Canterbury
Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator
Residents aged 16 and over
21,555 out of 132,775.
Source and method →People aged 16+ with a degree or equivalent
33.1%21 March 2021 · Canterbury
Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator
Residents aged 16 and over
43,896 out of 132,775.
Source and method →Canterbury Castle, Castle Row and linked city-centre routes
Repairs to the castle and better gardens, paths and signs aim to reconnect heritage sites with the city centre. Different parts of the programme finish at different times.
Castle stonework stabilised; landscaping completion unconfirmed · source does not state a status date
Responsible body: Canterbury City Council
The council records castle stonework stabilisation completed in December 2025 and schedules the keep and grounds for late summer 2026. The reviewed page still uses future wording for reopening.
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
Levelling Up work and timescales →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
Westgate Square, Dane John Gardens and story gardens
Renewed squares and gardens give residents and visitors places to meet, move through and enjoy events. They form part of the wider heritage programme.
Transformed spaces reported; completion celebration announced · evidence dated 2026-03-27
Responsible body: Canterbury City Council
The council describes newly revitalised spaces and announces a 24 May celebration of the squares and gardens projects. This record does not treat that announcement as completion of all Connected Canterbury work.
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
City festival celebrates completion of public spaces transformation →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
Canterbury city centre
The strategy tackles empty properties, difficult routes through the centre and the need to sustain shops, culture and learning. Individual projects still need selecting and costing.
Published strategic framework; project programme still to be developed · source does not state a status date
Responsible body: Canterbury City Council
The strategy identifies the former Nason’s and Debenhams sites and fragmented connections. It explicitly says detailed costed projects are not set out, with an October 2026–April 2028 action plan to be developed.
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
Canterbury City Centre Strategy 2026 to 2043 →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.