Named local schemes and plans, with the responsible body and the latest stage established by the source checked. A proposal, funding announcement and completed project are different things.
Canterbury Castle, Castle Row and linked city-centre routes
Connected Canterbury: Castle and heritage routes
Repairs to the castle and better gardens, paths and signs aim to reconnect heritage sites with the city centre. Different parts of the programme finish at different times.
Castle stonework stabilised; landscaping completion unconfirmed · source does not state a status date
Responsible body: Canterbury City Council
Progress, funding and source
The council records castle stonework stabilisation completed in December 2025 and schedules the keep and grounds for late summer 2026. The reviewed page still uses future wording for reopening.
- Cost
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Funding
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Area covered
- Unmapped: a verified current ward boundary or council ward statement is still needed.
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
Levelling Up work and timescales →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
How to track delivery →Westgate Square, Dane John Gardens and story gardens
Connected Canterbury: squares and story gardens
Renewed squares and gardens give residents and visitors places to meet, move through and enjoy events. They form part of the wider heritage programme.
Transformed spaces reported; completion celebration announced · evidence dated 2026-03-27
Responsible body: Canterbury City Council
Progress, funding and source
The council describes newly revitalised spaces and announces a 24 May celebration of the squares and gardens projects. This record does not treat that announcement as completion of all Connected Canterbury work.
- Cost
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Funding
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Area covered
- Unmapped: a verified current ward boundary or council ward statement is still needed.
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
City festival celebrates completion of public spaces transformation →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
How to track delivery →Canterbury city centre
City Centre Strategy 2026–2043
The strategy tackles empty properties, difficult routes through the centre and the need to sustain shops, culture and learning. Individual projects still need selecting and costing.
Published strategic framework; project programme still to be developed · source does not state a status date
Responsible body: Canterbury City Council
Progress, funding and source
The strategy identifies the former Nason’s and Debenhams sites and fragmented connections. It explicitly says detailed costed projects are not set out, with an October 2026–April 2028 action plan to be developed.
- Cost
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Funding
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Area covered
- Unmapped: a verified current ward boundary or council ward statement is still needed.
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
Canterbury City Centre Strategy 2026 to 2043 →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
How to track delivery →