Skip to content
Canterbury Counts — Canterbury, in numbers.Local help →

Canterbury · England

People and living standards

Canterbury council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Canterbury

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Canterbury local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 129,553 in 1991 to 162,612 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Canterbury council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 131,318 people in 1996; 162,612 people in 2025. 23.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Canterbury council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991129,553
1992128,843
1993129,777
1994130,380
1995130,689
1996131,318
1997132,603
1998132,609
1999133,662
2000134,905
2001135,381
2002136,483
2003138,608
2004140,578
2005141,918
2006143,490
2007145,197
2008146,073
2009146,396
2010148,653
2011150,600
2012151,710
2013153,475
2014155,151
2015156,143
2016157,280
2017157,944
2018157,256
2019157,109
2020157,187
2021156,631
2022159,081
2023161,601
2024162,372
2025162,612
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Canterbury council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 24,202 people in 1996; 25,753 people in 2025. 6.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Canterbury council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199123,871
199223,942
199324,096
199424,295
199524,300
199624,202
199724,288
199824,254
199924,658
200024,912
200124,880
200224,768
200324,843
200424,851
200524,827
200625,094
200725,143
200825,052
200924,937
201024,942
201125,224
201225,236
201325,010
201424,960
201524,929
201624,880
201725,086
201824,837
201924,637
202024,547
202124,619
202225,112
202325,568
202425,766
202525,753
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Canterbury council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 80,160 people in 1996; 99,864 people in 2025. 24.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Canterbury council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199178,583
199277,778
199378,557
199478,968
199579,313
199680,160
199781,371
199881,593
199982,603
200083,788
200184,460
200285,654
200387,669
200489,584
200590,789
200692,027
200793,343
200893,968
200993,927
201095,636
201196,717
201296,707
201397,841
201498,709
201599,335
2016100,044
2017100,171
201899,233
201998,779
202098,526
202197,501
202298,836
2023100,396
2024100,242
202599,864
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Canterbury council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 26,956 people in 1996; 36,995 people in 2025. 37.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Canterbury council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199127,099
199227,123
199327,124
199427,117
199527,076
199626,956
199726,944
199826,762
199926,401
200026,205
200126,041
200226,061
200326,096
200426,143
200526,302
200626,369
200726,711
200827,053
200927,532
201028,075
201128,659
201229,767
201330,624
201431,482
201531,879
201632,356
201732,687
201833,186
201933,693
202034,114
202134,511
202235,133
202335,637
202436,364
202536,995
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 157,429 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Canterbury · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh6,3774.1%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African3,9062.5%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups4,3162.7%
White140,47389.2%
Other ethnic group2,3571.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 151,145 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Canterbury · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White140,62093%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups2,5511.7%
Asian/Asian British5,1353.4%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1,9371.3%
Other ethnic group9020.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 135,278 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Canterbury · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White130,70096.6%
Mixed1,3621%
Asian/Asian British1,3141%
Black/Black British6100.5%
Chinese/Other1,2921%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 5.8% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Canterbury council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,024 per person in 1997; £24,464 per person in 2024. 171.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Canterbury council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,024
19989,298
19999,843
200010,536
200111,154
200211,570
200311,743
200412,230
200512,639
200613,037
200713,778
200814,194
200914,760
201014,963
201115,103
201215,652
201316,168
201416,647
201517,401
201617,889
201718,373
201818,937
201919,848
202019,962
202121,015
202221,926
202323,014
202424,464
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Canterbury council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -14.9% in 1997; -5.8% in 2024. 9.1 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Canterbury council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-14.9
1998-14.1
1999-13
2000-11.5
2001-9.8
2002-8.6
2003-9.9
2004-9.9
2005-10.1
2006-11
2007-10.2
2008-9.9
2009-7.8
2010-7.4
2011-7.3
2012-7.3
2013-7.7
2014-7.9
2015-8.5
2016-7.1
2017-6.7
2018-7.2
2019-5.8
2020-4.9
2021-3.8
2022-4.5
2023-5.9
2024-5.8
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Households facing several disadvantages

17.8%

21 March 2021 · Canterbury local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

16.2%

21 March 2021 · Canterbury local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.1%

21 March 2021 · Canterbury local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£337,000

July 2026 · Canterbury local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,280

August 2026 · Canterbury local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.